Hey man

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Stoned Engineer, Jun 5, 2007.

1. While I've never posted here before, I have been lurking for the past few months. Might as well introduce myself.

I'm an electrical engineer with a high interest in marijuana growing operations. I've never started a grow-op, but I have lots of new ideas. One of them is to use solar panels/wind generators and a battery bank to provide the electricity for the grow-op while also providing all electricity for the building the grow-op is located at. It would be a self-sustaining, fully off-grid system. The advantages are obvious to many, including but not limited to no electric bill!

I'm also in the process of building a battery powered car out of my Triumph race car. Currently planning on using a Netgain 9" series-wound DC motor, a Cafe Electric Zilla 1k controller, a PFC20 battery charger, and 16 Universal Battery UB121100 batteries(rated at 80 AH at the 1 hr rate, 12V nominal, 720 cca) connected in series for 192V. This should give me a battery powered car that costs about $10,000 to build, and according to simulation, will do 100 miles per charge at 65 mph, 0-60 mph in 6 seconds, a top speed exceeding 140 mph, and factoring in battery replacement every 30,000 miles plus electricity costs, will reach cost parity with a comparable gasoline powered car at $1.50/gallon gas(so long as gas is above $1.50/gallon, the electric will be cheaper to run). It will be painted dark British Racing Green and will have a bunch of aerodynamic modifications, low rolling resistance tires, synthetic transmission oil, 0 camber/castor/toe alignment, and machined brake calipers to maximize efficiency and get that range desired. It will be the ultimate ride to hotbox in and roll around town full of smoke and picking on Porsche Boxters and BMW Z4s.