Here is a question for ya...

Discussion in 'Advanced Growing Techniques' started by ksr69, Dec 30, 2010.

1. #1 ksr69, Dec 30, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 30, 2010
    So ive been growing for a couple years now.. Starting to get it down if ya no what I mean.. anyways im a dirt grower. tried hydro few times and never seemed to work out for me. Well as i water my ladies once every couple days, it seems like the soil is getting more and more compact. now harvest is almost here and the soil is freakin hard!!!! ive always read that they like the soil lose and fluffy so its east for the roots to cruise around in. anybody have ideas on ways to keep the soil lose? or anybody else have this problem??
    I took some pvc pipe and ran it through the pots b4 i planted and drilled holes in em to give the roots air.. I think it helped:rolleyes: not positive though.. well.. any ideas?? they would sure be helpful and i dont think im the only one with this problem.. or maybe i am..

any body heard of putting worms in the soil? just a thought..Thanks

2. Now nobody laugh, but I cultivate the soil in my pots about every other watering or when the surface gets too crusty, with a large kitchen fork...like you would use for BBQing or roasting. I'm pretty gentle with it but it keeps the surface of the soil nice and loose so it soaks up the water more evenly, and hopefully keeps things nice and aerated. Be careful not to damage the roots, tho! What can I say? I got nothing better to do than putter around in the garden sometimes...:smoke:

3. ive put worms in my pots a few times not many tho, or poke the top with a fork make small holes let the water soak, could be to much clay in the dirt too

4. You can put fish in your soil/ground when prepping it. Actually works wonders. Native Americans did it for years.

5. thanks for your input.. ill try the kitchen fork lol.. doesnt seem like i can do much else.. fish in the soil?? how would i go about doing that??