Hempy Bucket (Help me)

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by yep280, May 7, 2016.

1. Ok, so I am new to hydroponic growing. I have a general idea of how the hempy bucket works, but I have a question and would appreciate any help.

Ok, so i understand the bucket is filled with a reservoir and has nutes in it. What i do not understand is before the roots reach the bottom of the bucket where the water/nutrients are, how does the plant get water? At the beginning the roots arent long enough to sit in the water, so how do they get water and nutes up until they get down into the water?

I understand that I probably will have to water them a little everyday until the roots reach the resevior, but the water will just bascially run right through the medium and down to the bottom of the bucket. Is that enough to keep the plant going until it reached the water/nutes at the bottom of the bucket?

Thanks to anyone who helps me out...

2. Assuming you are using rookwool? and hydroton (clay pellets). I first soak the rookwool and Pellets in 5.8 pH water, pellets for a few days, rookwool overnight, I use the rookwool cube to seed, paper towel works but you have to place in cube when it sprouts, I just sprout in cube eliminating chance of harming seedling. Now, once cube and pellets are setup in pots, fill bucket with pH 5.8- 6.2 water to within an inch of the top of bucket, top water cube if rookwool starts to dry, when the roots have grown 1 in. out the bottom of pot, lower bucket level to have a half inch air space between bottom of pot and water level, that is it, your airstone will keep everything mixed and oxynated. Don't use any nutes for the first 10-15 days, and the only a 1/4 dose and gradually increase as the plant grows. I highly suggest root suppliments, SilicaBlast and voodoo type sups. 20160330_174131.jpg 20160330_174147.jpg 20160330_174218_002.jpg 20160503_041619.jpg

• Like Like x 2