help!

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by pullitover, Sep 29, 2010.

1. im very new to growing marijuana. im on my second crop, and im having a few setbacks. my first crop started with 4 plants that i got from my dad. they were about 10 inches tall when i got them. i had them under the curly-cue florescent lights, 24/0, 1 for each plant. well i built a nice little room, 4x8, then put a wall in the middle(so 2 4x4 rooms). when they were 14 inches tall, i switched them to 12/12 under a 400w hps. well i made a few first time mistakes, like looking at them with the lights off, which i found out from others, is like someone waking you up when you were sleepin. i didnt really write down when i started, just rookie mistakes. so i wait and wait, the plants just looked like crap, and i figured it was time to harvest, so i did. well i only got 11 grams [​IMG] of off each... what was i doing wrong?

so onto this crop. i wrote down when i started, i water them only when the lights are on. so i got 9 plants from a buddy, that were growing outside. well im down to 3, the rest were males. they were ready to put under 12/12, so thats where they are. i see all these pics of huge bushes, and awesome looking plants, althought mine are scragely lookin. foilage at the top, but the stalks are just that. what am i doing wrong. i dont really have ventilation, as i havent gotten an exhaust fan. could that be part of the problem? i was thinkin just a bathroom fart fan would work. i got a box fan blowin on them all the time. im using miracle grow quick start, half a cap to 1 gallon of water. also i have heard hydrogen peroxide, 1-2 capfuls per gallon, havent tried it yet.

any ideas?

2. no problem, glad i could help

3. anyone else? basically my questions are:\

1. will no ventilation make my plants not grow like they should?
    2. under veg state, should i leave the lights on 24/0, or 18/6?