Help with portable a/c thermostat

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by ThinkCreative, Apr 18, 2013.

1. Alrighty, first off this is my first time posting here and yes, I have searched all over haha. This is also my first grow where I have all the right tools to do it.

Now, about the setup

60"x36"x20" tent, Haier 8000BTU protable A/C unit, HygroLED HO 1000, Humidifier, fan inside, and 4" vortex blower for the exhaust.

Now the problem, obviously the A/C unit is reading room temperatures because it cannot fit inside my tent which is inside a closet. The A/C is vented out the window for it's personal exhaust. Then the A/C vent is ducted inside the tent. I have a fan inside the closet circulating air to keep CO2 levels up and just for general circulation. Problem is since it's not using my thermostat from inside the tent, it will shut off once the outside temp reads the set temp. Then my tent blows up to 85º. Once it kicks back on it drops back down to 71º-74º. Although it only gets hot for 10-20 minutes, I feel like this constant temp change is stressing my newly planted clones.

Now, I have gone to school for audio engineering/audio electronics so I do know a bit about wiring, voltage, and just electricity in general. Been thinking about buying an external thermostat and splicing into it but not too sure how to go about it or if it reads the temp from a digital PCB. Also thinking of finding the thermostat and ducting it straight to the tent depending on where it is. Just thinking of some ideas and would like some other input! Any advice is much appreciated and I hope to solve this problem as soon as I can considering I have already started my grow.

Thanks!

2. Also have been thinking about purchasing another A/C to keep the room a bit colder so that the A/C being directed to the tent won't have to work as hard. But at the same time I am waiting to see my first electricity bill and how much this one is going to increase it.