help with my first grow

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by CaptainCannibal, Mar 22, 2009.

1. Hello everyone, I'm new here obviously. I've been toking for I'd say maybe four years now. Not the longest time, but I at least know most of my stuff when it comes to buying and what not. But I've finally decided that my recreational use is getting expensive (I would get a job, but right now isn't the best time. I'm planning on getting one once the summer starts for extra cash until I get this growing thing down). So I've finally decided I want to try my hand at growing. I would mainly be growing for myself and my friends, and then sell some to some younger friends of mine.

Now, the problem here is that I've never grown anything before. Not just marijuana, but I've never grown any sort of plant. So, I've been reading a lot of guides on growing cannabis and I have the basic idea, but I'm still confused at the same time. It's like I know what I need to do, but I'm still unsure.

So I was hoping someone could just give me a quick outline of everything I need and what I need to do.

I'm in Pennsylvania, so it's supposed to be 50 degrees this week. When should I start planting? I'm not even sure when the last frost is supposed to be. Probably May, correct?

Also, what strain should I go with? I'm sticking to outdoor for my first time. I was thinking Purple Haze. It's an outdoor strain, it's strong, and I hear it would be fine in the climate we have up here. The problem is getting seeds. My friend may be able to get me some, but she's not sure, and I can't order them because of my parents obviously. So, if I can't get ahold of my p.h. , what strain should I try to find? It needs to be fairly common so I can find it from a dealer around here.

Another thing is that I'm not sure what to use as far as fertilizers and materials in general. What would be a good fertilizer?

Thank you very much in advance for any help.