Help me organize my hydro grow?

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Grow Journals' started by Jimmy Carter, Nov 11, 2011.

1. So I have been growing my plant hydroponically for a few months. Water changes have been infrequent, Nutrients have been added infrequently as well. I need to develop a schedule or plan so I can stay on top of my nutrients and water changes. How do you guys do it? Do you have a notebook you keep all your 'to-do's' on? I'm just not sure the easiest way to keep this grow going steady.

Today I went for a nice hike and on the way back I hit up Orchard Supply because the store is closing and they got deals on everything. I picked up a GH pH Control Kit and a 1 quart bottle of FloraNova 'Grow' food.

I know my water pH is around 8 out of the tap. The container I'm growing in hold probably about 1/3gallon of water, I know its not a lot but I need something small until I have a dedicated grow-cab for it. Should I mix up some water in a large container so I can always have pH adjusted water for my water changes or should I do it fresh every time? also, I use water from my planted aquarium for this plant because I know its good for plants. should I keep doing that or use just tap?

Thanks to anyone who gets what I'm trying to ask :wave:

2. no plant water brother

3. uuuh

elaborate?

4. unless im confused...are you using water from an aquarium that has plant life in it?

5. yes I am. Why should I stop using it?

6. i could see the benifits in a soiless or soil grow...but im having a hard time wrapping my head around how this would work in a hydro system without clogging anything up...i was thinking of having extra plant matter that may decompose in your system which would be bad...but i could see the benifits of that matter becoming food for a plant in soil....