Help me get started again

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by That Old Guy, Aug 22, 2016.

1. Hi grasscity! I'm starting after an extended hiatus....measured in years...in many ways I feel like an absolute beginner again; maybe another newbie can benefit from this thread. I grow to supply myself and one other family member, my total grow foot print takes up about 6 square feet, so I also think I qualify as a micro grow. It's done organically in dirt, and from seed each time.

I bought a 400W lamp to get started because that's what I used in the past, and the plants performed beautifully under it. My new ballast will fire both 400 and 600 watt lamps, and a 600W HPS puts out almost twice as much light as a 400W. I've always heard more light = more buds, if I switched from 400W to 600W, am I likely to see a 50% increase in yield to offset the 50% increase in electricity costs?

I want to run the first crop through as quickly as possible in order to produce some medicine for now as well as build a stash. To that end I'm thinking of a modified SOG. The space can hold 25 plants in 6" square containers. The plan is to start in 4" containers, and transplant into the 6" containers when the plants have 3 nodes. Once they have 6 nodes, I'll flip to 12/12. Doing this will save me 4 weeks or more on the crop cycle, as I would typically only plant 10 pots and veg for 8 weeks before flowering in 3 - 5 gallon containers.

The 6" square pots hold just over a 1/2 gallon of medium. Is it reasonable to expect each pot will produce 1/4 oz? More importantly, is it reasonable to expect a 6" pot will sustain the plant for 10+ weeks? Does the root system continue to expand as the bud cycle progresses?