Help! Did I screw up topping my plant?

Discussion in 'Plant Training' started by HelpPlease101, Jan 16, 2022.

1. Hi,

I recently decided to try topping my roughly 4 month old cannabis plant ~ And I think i messed up the instructions i read online. The area I cut on my plant has no 'growth nodes' ~ that is, no small leaves or branches in the armpit/joining section. The photo attached shows where I cut, leaving about an inch of stem behind (I believe the smaller points are pistils).

I have had to post on multiple forums online, as no one seems to be able to help, only actually making me more confused. I want to know if I screwed up this process (because there is no 'growth nodes' where I cut) ~ and if so, how to fix it? What can I expect to happen?, will nodes appear anyway, or do i need to figure something else out? I am very new to growing this type of plant and have no idea what to expect.

Thanks in advance.

Attached Files:

• Funny Funny x 1
  2. They will show. It'll just take some time.

BNW

• Friendly Friendly x 1
  3. [​IMG]

You can see where I topped these at 5 nodes. As soon as the new tops were well enough defined I topped them again as well as topping the lower branches when they reached tall enough. I should wind up with 16 mostly equal height tops per plant.

BNW

4. Damn! ~ So once the expected growth shows up, you would cut each individual branch again once its ready?
    Also just a question about 'lower branches'; will these also do the same thing when cut? And would that logic apply for most larger branches/stems?

Appreciate the help immensely ~ calmed me down haha

5. #5 Storm Crow, Jan 16, 2022
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2022
    Relax hon! You haven't screwed up, you are just being impatient, like most beginners. :laughing: Just give it some time. The new shoots will appear, right where they should.