HELLO GS! My First Grow Attempt and a Thank You

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by JBX, Jan 10, 2013.

1. Hi everyone,

I would like to start by thanking all of the good people here in the cultivation section that take the time to help out those of us that so obviously need the help.

I am brand new to growing, went the lazy mans route and bought a super closet locker for my setup. Done!

Thanks to what I figure must be a fantastic nutrient system (technaflora) but more importantly all of your advice that I have been sucking up while I lurk away here- I have what seems to be an OK go at it for my first try.

So....I have 3 plants, all super lemon haze. I decided with the limited space that I have that should make an attempt at Uncle Ben's(bow-down) topping technique to grow 4 colas for more production.....and kinda-sorta got it to work for me. Was this a good decision or no?

I now have 4 of what I have been calling "My Lollipops" growing out of one plant, and 2 growing out of each of the other 2 plants. Not sure what happened but you can see from the pics why they remind me of lollipops.

Early on, these things stretched on me fiercely. I have issues regulating temp inside my locker. Temps range from 65F to 82F. I wonder if this is the only reason that I could not get the tight node spacing that I was hoping for?

Overall, I am happy with those chunky monkeys on the top of my bean-poles!

So now I am 8 weeks into the 12/12 cycle....and I think I just made a mistake.

My nutrient program that i have been following tells me to use a high carb formula for the first 3 days of my last week of flowering, then to flush with just water for the last 4 days of the week. I started that regimen yesterday when I thought I was about a week out.....today with some closer examination ( and more reading here ) I think I am more than 1 week from being ready.

I would love to hear thoughts on this =)