Heat Problems any comment would be appreciated

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by UnderMe, Aug 12, 2011.

1. Hello Grass City!
    I am new here to the forum just need some help from experienced people.

I am not a newbie in the issue but I do have some questions in order to build a good room this time.

My main problem in this set up is heat! I live in a place that is really hot and my test runs have marked temperatures of 95 during the warmer part of the day! So I am trying to focus on intake and outtake exhaust systems and etc.
    Here's my main question, I can't make any new holes or anything like that so I can't build an actual exhaust system getting fresh air so my idea is to attempt to get air from my room and just use the AC to cool the air there, however I don't know exactly how to exchange air without allowing any light to go through it. Is there any special screens that I could install on either side of the door so that each will have a big fan for in/out take. From what I researched I think people use screens similar to an AC screen to protect from any dust, but with another screen that blocks the light aswell.

Also considerng the room is in my closet and the doors will have to be closed should I also attempt to build a small exhaust in using the crack under the door? I have read a little about people that did that, so my question is would it be worth it to attempt to build one w small tubes under the door, I could even go under the door and leave it right under the window so that I can leave it open some of the day

Another quick question, I also feel like running the whole house AC all day only to cool down the closet is kind of a waste of energy. I was looking at some portable AC but I also found out they are very expensive and they do not cool down very much in contrast with an actual window AC. What are you guys' recommendations about that?