Has anyone else tried the mirror trick on their Aerogarden?

Discussion in 'Aeroponics' started by Hank Alvarez, Oct 8, 2010.

1. #1 Hank Alvarez, Oct 8, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 8, 2010
    I'm only a hobbyist who grows his own meds but I was inspired by a lot of the complaints I read about of us not having enough light to do the job with the A/G's. When I discussed this with my electrician friend he had a fit because the set up I rigged not only looked like a snake pit but it was a wireman's nightmare with all the outlets in the room filled and some had octopuses.

I bought A/G's upgrade kits with the taller arms and hoods with three higher intensity CFL's but I too was ready to toss my A/G because I was only getting buds on top. The fan leaves were shading too much of the plant for efficient blooming below. Then I remembered a little physics about the angle of incidence equaling the angle of refraction and decided to give it a try.

I mounted mirrors; one behind and one on each side and it really worked bitchin' but when I elevated them to the height of the planting deck things really started to improve. Right now, my mirrors are supported on, or probably more honestly they're teetering on stacks of books next to and behind my A/G's but they're proving my point that you can reflect the light back up that you already paid for and get improved results.

What I plan to do in the next week or so is to acquire enough 6" by 6" wood beam to elevate the mirrors more securely. That'll put them at the same level as the planting deck. I'll ask a friend to cut the beam into pieces conforming to the length and width of my A/G's and then cut a groove in them that will support the mirrors more securely then what I presently have. What do you think?

2. Post a photo of it, I'd like to see it

3. like the concept, but i thought mirrors absorbed light. Would mylar be better?