Habbit Forming Activity?

Discussion in 'Pandora's Box' started by jaydips090, Feb 16, 2009.

1. Alright so heres the deal... i've been insuffalating an ADHD medication known as Focalin XR. The feeling to me is great and mildly euphoric, with the added slight "motavation" that some people get from ADD and ADHD meds. I have also taken the pill orally numerous times, but i prefer the insuffaltion method due to its quicker entry into the body and its slight euphoric effects.

But... i think i may have a problem, i have been using focalin for about 2 months. The normal doese pills i have been getting are the Focallin XR 20 mg pills and tend to use em' up quite rapidly. I think i may have an habbit forming, what should i do? As far as chemistry wise, i know the pills are made up of the dexmethylphenidate which i think is about 2 times as powerful as the methylphenidate found in ritalin.

2. If you are in a position to do so, seek out a councellor or support group. Or if they'll be understanding, your parents, relatives, roommates, or friends.
    This is the first step, even before stopping. You will need help and support. You want someone who will be understanding but firm about helping.
    In either case, INFORM YOUR DOCTOR. You may need to be checked for severe, life-threatening complications from this drug. Large doses or large extended doses can cause seizure, embolisms, and brain damage. Be sure you will survive to recover, first.

Second, you will want to reduce your addictive position. Do this by first limiting to ONLY the prescribed dose, no more. After a week or two of tolerating this, cease insufflation and take it orally as intended once again. This may be difficult, you MUST resist temptation to reuse. After that, you can either continue using the medication as prescribed, or if your doctor reccomends a different or no drug, cease use entirely.