Guano tea recipe critique.

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by darren0306, Mar 17, 2010.

1. First off keep up the good job here guys, its a good place to learn!

Okay now for my question, I am a newbie to organic growing and i've come up with a tea recipe using a simple organic soil mix for the base along with a guano tea recipe i came up with using "Super tea" and "Budswel".

Seedling tea:

1/2 cup - Earthworm castings
    2 1/2 tsp - Blackstrap molasses

-Every 3rd watering.

2 tbsp - Super Tea dry guano mix

-Every 3rd watering.

4 tbsp - 50-50 mix of Budswel and Super tea guanos........? (i've heard it works great)
    2 tbsp - Maxicrop kelp/seaweed extract (speed up blooming)

5-6 tbsp - Budswel dry guano mix

With every watering.____________________________________________________

So there it is, i would really appreciate it if you guys could let me know if i am doing something wrong here, i am not very familiar with using guanos or these perticular products as a combination. Thank you in advance!

2. Very little of the nutrients contained in the guano get released into the tea when you brew it. Guanos can be useful in tea in that they contain unique beneficial organisms, but they are not a fertilizer substitute and the impart very little nutritional value to the plant when used this way. The primary purpose of tea is to get the soil biology going and to make existing nutrients more available to the plants. If you are looking to get the nutrients out of the guano, you would have better results top dressing with the guano, then applying the tea.

IMO your tea needs a few more ingredients to make it balanced. Some sort of liquid humate is always a good idea as these feed the fungi as well as provide many benefits to the plant themselves. I would recommend you check out Dr. Ingram's recipes - they have been proven to work and they are what I use as a base for my teas.