Growing in a shed

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by shedantler, Oct 17, 2015.

1. #1 shedantler, Oct 17, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 17, 2015
    Hi guys. I have never grown, but it's actually something I want to do for another hobby. I've been kicking the idea around for a couple of months now. I've done a lot of research online, but I know online research will never substitute for actual experience.. I don't wan't to go into this and blow my money. I know I could follow step by step guides on how to grow inside my heated house, but my dad is opposed to this idea. We do, however, have a 9x9 metal shed... aluminum.. tin.. idk. It has no insulation. I can obviously insulate it, but do I want to? I'm tossing this idea at you guys for conversation and I want all opinions, debates, what you think is good with the idea, whats wrong with it.. etc. Like I said.. I'm a newb.. telling me I forgot something obvious isn't going to hurt my feelings even if it throws out my whole idea.

Items I know (think) I will need
    -------------------------------
    -Minimum of one 1000w HPS MH light without cool tube (will get two likely)
    -1500w thermostat controlled heater fan for air intake and added heat (more can be used if needed.. but from there insulation would probably be better, right?)
    -Regular fan for air exhaust
    -secondary thermostat kept away from heat sources to show actual temp of the whole room
    *eventually foylon walls
    *insulation for in summer when temps need to be cooled not increased

Shed dimensions
    ------------------
    9 feet long
    9 feet wide
    5 feet tall on edges with an angled roof making the peak height roughly 6.25ft
    This seems very ideal to me as the angled roof will provide a good area to place the light(s) and heater fan(s)