Grow Tent Power: Nervous

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by Peroni, Nov 23, 2014.

1. I had a quick queston out there for electricians or people who know about residential electricity.  I have a good size grow tent in the basement.  My circut breaker would trip with all my equipment going at the same time (because the basement shares the same circut (15amp) with a room upstairs.  Because of this I need more power from another circut.  Instead of running a powercord from upstairs (very scared it would start a fire), I decided to run it's own dedicated 20 amp circut.  I got a new 20amp circut breaker, 12/2 wire, 20amp outlet and installed it successfully. 
    Now here is my question: since I'm not an electrician I'm a little nervous that I missed something.  This is the first time I wired something myself and I'm scared a fire could start.  Has anyone did this themseleves and is not a certified electrcian.  Am I worring for nothing?  I guess it's much better than a powercord.

2. So what your saying is you basement shares power with a room upstairs and your draw trips the breaker so instead of combing the two lines you made a new line ? From where inside the breaker box you installed another 20amp and bought a box and outlet and made a new plug just fot the room or did you buy the breaker tap off both lines into one in the new breaker box then off to a plug give me a lil more info please maybe a pic i may be able to help

3. Thanks for replying.  Yeah instead of combining any lines, I decided to buy an install a new breaker on the bus in the main control panel then run a brand new line with a brand new outlet.  I thought that would be best this way I can have it's own dedicated circut seperate from the existing.  I'll try and get a pic, but I'm not home at the moment.

4. #4 Guest, Nov 23, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2014