Grow tent advice desperately needed

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Noob22, May 5, 2011.

1. I'm definitely an absolute beginner. I knew absolutely nothing a couple weeks ago. I have quite the dilemma on my hands. So here goes...

I ordered a 600 watt mh/hps light with switchable ballast & a 40" x 40" x 78" Mylar tent.

I know I need a carbon filter fan which I plan on making and having it blow out one of the pre-cut tent holes. I was planning on putting an oscillating fan inside for circulation. And lastly, putting a small fan in one of the pre-cut tent holes blowing air in from outside the tent.

From things I've read, I was under the impression that's all I would need. Now a friend is telling me I need this and that and duct work bringing air in from outside the house. Is this true?

What are the necessities? Is it gonna be too hot in there? I was feeling really pumped when I ordered my light/tent, but now I'm feeling overwhelmed again :(

I'm getting a clone in the next couple days and I need to be prepared asap and spend not much more money.

Please help! Thank you so much! This place has been awesome.

2. Run the dryer vent ducting as follows for proper airflow venting.
    carbon scrubber >duct>air cooled light hood>duct>fan>vent hole out of your tent.
    Here is an example. Some people don't like putting their fan before the light because they feel it vibrates the light and puts more air pressure on it, causing your hps light to break faster.
    [​IMG]
    btw is your ballast dimmable or set @ 600w?

As far as bringing in air from outside? no. If you get a good negetive airflow pressure in your tent your temps in your tent could run 5-10 degrees above your ambient room temps.
    However if your light hood isn't enclosed, you could find yourself running into some heat issues as i've read.

3. #3 Noob22, May 5, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 15, 2016