Grow room w/ hot water heater... Safe?

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by tefp, Sep 14, 2009.

1. I'm new to the indoor growing arena and am in need of a little help. I've had a couple outdoor grows but am now going to set up something indoors also.

I have a utility closet in the basement of my house that seems perfect for my needs. The only thing is that it has a hot water heater and water softener in it. It is a big closet so there is still plenty of room. My question: is it safe to have a grow going right next to it?

Also, i will be using a 400w HPS.

Thanks

2. the only problem i can see would be the room getting to hot from having the light and the water heater, but then again how hot does the room get now?

• Like Like x 1
  3. You only need to worry if you have something that is flammable if its a gas waterheater, if its electric you have nothing to worry about at all..

4. Yah, its a gas waterheater.

Not sure if its a problem though. I don't really have anything thats flammable. I'm not running CO2 or anything like that. Just the light is all i'm worrying about.

I just stuck a thermometer in the room. I'll let it sit there tonight and see what its reading. It doesn't get terribly warm in that room, so i think i might be ok without too much ventilation.

5. The hot water heater should not get very hot on the outside -- if it is you should wrap an insulating blanket around it, not just for your grow op but for your general energy efficiency.

To me the biggest worry with your setup would be if the water heater leaks or needs to be re;aired/replaced, in which case you will have other people going in there.

• Like Like x 1
  6. The room stays in the low 70's right now. Once I get the ventilation set up i don't think it will be a problem.