Grinder Perfection

Discussion in 'Other Smoking Accessories' started by gwizard86, Apr 23, 2013.

1. Thought I'd dive in.

Been lingering for a while.

Anyways I'm a Mechanical design student, semi toker :smoke: by nature and as part of a project from Uni, have been asked to create something which solves some of the problems associated with that thing. It can be anything.

Well... I thought why not a 'herb' grinder. It's pretty mechanical, has plenty of interesting geometries to tinker with. I know what pi&%es me off with my grinder, but then I'm no expert.

So I thought I'd put it to you guys,

What's qualities would you have in a grinder if you had the opportunity to create the perfect grinder.

What really annoys you about yours.

2. I approve of your project topic haha.
    I have a santa cruz, which addresses a fair amount of typical grinder problems (perfectly milled teeth, different teeth design for ripping, better holes, finer screen). But i know one thing i haven't seen any grinder do is prevent the build of pollen over all the threads that screw the pieces together. This makes putting the grinder together and taking it apart difficult, ya know.

Maybe if you could have the internal chambers be separated from the fasteners? Maybe a different fastener than screwing the pieces together, like a seat belt buckle design or how a glass on glass jar has that rubber seal.
    Or you could have the pieces with grooves for large keck clips
    Just spitt ballin, hope its helpful

3. Defo have a crystal catcher

4. Design a machine that makes twisting the grinder 99% effortless, and like a 2 spin max for optimal results?
    Patent that bitch lol

5. yeah seriously I agree lol. If your looking at a multiple stage grinder make the threads way bigger instead of so fine it takes 20 seconds to unscrew some, buzzkill :( lol

60% of the time, it works every time.

6. Make a convertible grinder that works as a 4 piece and a 2 piece.