Green light

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by michaelbakken, Apr 7, 2011.

1. Quick and simple, could I use a green-colored light while my plant's in it's dark cycle to utilize the room that the plant's in?
    I'm feeling I should just not mess with it and leave the room alone; but hey, why not exploit the availability if it's there.
    Any input is appreciated.

2. What exactly are you trying to use this room for other than growing? It is best that no lights get to the plants during the dark stage, even a green one.

3. I've read some growers from Europe do this technique. Apparently plants do not use green light waves, hence the green color of chlorophyll. They say it works but I have no personal experience with it, I'd rather wait till the lights turn on then make my grow room into a darkroom.

4. I used to use a green lamp to work on my plants when I couldn't do it while the lights were on. Never had a problem with it.

5. I idea that the green color in chlorophyll come from a green light is absurd, NEVER use green light during flowering, EVER. Your severely fucking up its sleep and that does all kinds of bad things, including increasing ethelyne hormone level which stop cell growth.

THE ONLY time anyone uses green light correctly is in a room of mothers, what this does is keeps the hormones Abscisic acid and Auxin low and in turn keeps all preflowers off the plants. The reason for this is that flowers produce powerful flowering hormones that mess with clones ability to root and be viable, so by using a green light you never have to worry about your mother going to bud, having said that if have tired running a green light and noticed flowers don't be surprised and think that you are helping the plant. a small green light has so few lumens coming off it that you might still flower but your just fucking your self with a pointless green light that is hurting your plants ability to make the right rations of hormones for a good result.