Graffiti in public places

Discussion in 'The Artist's Corner' started by 420 High Times, Jan 31, 2012.

1. Hey GC so I just wanted to get your guys thoughts on graffiti in public areas, regardless if it good, bad, or just a simple tag.

Do you support or against graffiti on public buildings. Im just getting started and have done a decent amount of work but want to try it on something bigger that people will see.

Opinions?

2. I only like graffiti on public building if they look good, and their not actual gang tags, cuz everyone know gang tags suck dick, but Graf Artists can make a community look nice SOMETIMES.

3. if you tryna get your name up then yeah you gota hit everything. but no houses, ppl personal property like cars, no churchess. its disrespectful and just fucked up.

4. unless its a couch
    fuck yo' couch​

5. I think tagging anywhere that will require someone else to clean up your shit is pretty damn disrespectful and makes graffiti art itself look bad, personally.

6. the only instance where i thought of that would be sorta cool for graffiti to be done is like on abaondoned industrial complexes...factories in shambles, etc....

even then tho, if one painted a massive swastika on a crumbling factory, it would obviously be uncool....

but other than that, anything with some sense of style, something with aesthetic consideration...yeah, i think so

edit: even then whether something is cool or not is so semantic its sitll a hugely difficult call imo...

7. graffiti is an art, art is freedom of expression, freely express yourself

8. i think its disrespectful and illegal, tho if your really good i would show places your work and see if you could?

9. Definitely this. Try head shops or mom & pop game stores or something. There were a few places around here when I was a kid that had huge killer graff murals on the side of the building until they went out of business and the art got painted over.