Getting started, few questions. *HELP*

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by jasondub, Aug 6, 2006.

1. Hey bros,

I'm just getting started planning out my first grow. I haven't bought anything just yet except some beans (White Widow and Jack Herrer) from buy dutch seeds. I've read the WW is a little more forgiving than the JH so i'm gonna start with that.

Here's my situation, I have a closet about 6ft deep, 12ft wide and 9ft high however the door is in the middle of it and swings inward. Because of this I have roughy 32 sq ft to the left and 25 sq ft to the right of it. This leaves about 15 sq ft in the vicinity of the door (pretty much right in the middle) that I can't really use.

I'm planning on growing the 10 seeds in soil and pulling the males of course.

My questions:

1. There are 2 recessed lights in the closet (right where these 2 left and right 'grow spaces' would be) that I can remove and run an exhaust through. I've been in the attic and found some exhaust pipes (for the toilet area and shower area) however they're only about 4" in diameter. Is this big enough? I can run something to a larger exhaust area but it would literally be about 20' of duct to the larger exhaust (unused gas fireplace).

2. I believe I'll only be using the area to the left (32 sq ft) I'm thinking of going with a 400w HPS light, is this enough?

3. What are the quietest type of fans for intake / exhaust I can get?

4. I'm trying to figure out the best way for intake without making things too obvious. Living in AZ the air from the attic is either going to be REAL hot or REAL cold with maybe a few months out of the year when it's "normal". I don't think the 1" crack under the closet door is large enough for the climate controlled temps in the house... or is it?

5. Finally, should I flower the females I get from this batch or pick the best of the best and clone them? I'd like to go for the cloning, what do you guys think?

Thanks guys!