general small indoor grow questions?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by texas_virus, Jul 15, 2008.

1. Hello you guys I am an eager student that would like to join the ranks of you growers. I just have some basic questions that you guys could probably easily answer.

First let me tell you about my situation. I am moving into an apartment in about a month and decided I would really like to grow, to learn and as a side project. My apartment is on the second floor and I will be growing in a small storage room only accessible through the patio. the room is where my washer and dryer will be housed. This means that it is a separate room that has a power supply, were I wont have to worry about light seeping in, and best of all will have tons (I will purposely put out a lot) of open dryer sheet and soap boxes so it will help with the smell.

In this small room I plan to use a small walmart cabinet, about 3 feet tall. As a lighting source I will use CFL's and it will be cooled with small fans, I will also rig in a carbon filter out of the exhaust fan.

I have read up on the subject and will continue to read more and more till I actaully do this.

But here are my questions.

1. Is a cabinet of that size (24'' 18'' 36'') a suitable space for growing? At first I was considering a pc grow box but heard that that was too small so I thought this would be fine for all stages of growth.

2. Can I use bagseed for my initial grow or should I use a strain?

I live near the border so all the seeds that I can get will be from marijuana that was grown outdoors in Mexico. I read that the plants will only grow to there alloted space so I am leaning towards trying it, just because I don't want to spend $70+ on my first try.

But if a strain is really necessary what strain is best for me. I want something that is short and not too hard to grow. One that will do good in CFL's and, although not a top priority, something that is not ridiculously smelly.