Galaxy Note2: How do I get the most out of it?

Discussion in 'Silicon (v)Alley' started by Vicious, Feb 10, 2013.

1. I'm not new to smart phones. The one I was using before this was "borrowed" in a way so I couldn't really tinker with it. I am completely new to rooting, operating systems, and the meat of it all.

From what I understand, the Note2 is one of, if not the strongest phone on the market currently. It has a 1.6Ghz QuadCore processor and 2GB Ram. I've had it for one day and I am extremely happy with it. It runs psx and even some ps2 games with ease.

I do plan on rooting it but I am completely ignorant of it other than it's used for customizing and opening the phone. I'm going to have to read up on how too's and get an understanding of it before I dive in but until then, what do you consider necessary or recommend for the phone, what apps, etc?

So far I've just gotten normal maintenance things, file management programs and the basics.

2. rooting isn't all that intimidating. Most phones nowadays (especially flagships such as the gnote2) have huge developer support and with that a toolkit for all in one root, install a recovery, and even flashing roms if you don't want to do that through your recovery.

A good place for everything you need is xda-developers.com, just search for your carrier-specific note 2, and then look through the sections, general and development will be the most helpful, along with the q&a.

I don't know how you like to use your phone, so i'll just list some good apps.

customization:

ultimate custom clock widget- just the best widget you'll ever have, can do everything and then some and completely customizable.

Apex launcher- very smooth and customizable launcher, nova is on par with this as well but there are a few differences which may make you sway one way or another.