Gaining weight and muscle any help?

Discussion in 'Fitness, Health & Nutrition' started by LilLadyGreen, Mar 26, 2013.

1. I am fairly new to working out but I am just so damn tired of being 5' 4' and 92 pounds. I feel sick and weak all the time. I have absolutely no idea as to how to gain muscle and weight all I ever find is stuff to lose weight. The last thing I want at the moment.
    I have read that protein is key and to eat twice the amount? I have began to eat fish and plenty of beef and not so many greens but they are in my diet. I rarely drink and smoke now.
    I used to weigh 120 or so when I was in high school considering I was in sports and actually had a bit of muscle.
    I'm not sure what else to add so if you want to ask any questions please do.
    Thanks if anyone helps me out I appreciate it.

Oh yeah I am a female.

2. CALORIES chicka..... you need them

Calories, protein, and carbs are key to weight gain

Cut down on cardio and lift some weights.... No, you wont get bulky, as girls have much lower levels of the hormone that promotes anabolism (testosterone)

There are several great online sources for you to check out if you're looking to gain a bit of weight. check out the diet and exercise sections on bodybulding.com for a good place to start at....

3. What sports did you play?is it possible to join a team again?

Most girls i know barely eat anything and dont really work out but mantain a low bmi. To gain muscle you must use heavier weights, low reps. Dont overdo the cardio. once you start working out, Make sure you eat a lot so you dont lose even more weight. It's actually easier to eat more once you start working out again.

4. I second that....

I'm able to put back an 700 calorie post workout meal after an intense leg day and not feel full at all....

I like to think it's my body telling me it needs those nutrients to repair the damage I did to my muscles....