Gaining on a budget?

Discussion in 'Fitness, Health & Nutrition' started by bri_23, Jan 10, 2014.

1. So ill try to keep things short. I'm a female and would like to put on weight mainly in my lower half for i was blessed with an athletic torso and chicken legs (sorta).Anyway, im a complete newbie to this thing but after some research it looks like i need to clean up my diet, weight train, and have a caloric excess.. Ive been to the gym several times and i love lifting but im concerned about the diet part...mainly the cost of it. So protein is pretty expensive, huh? I'd love to learn how you guys and gals go about balancing what you need for your goals and budgets. Im in college and have some funds but not a lot so I'd like to know if this in reach for me at this point in my life.

2. #2 smokerings, Jan 10, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 10, 2014
    Protein powder.  It might cost you around $100 (if you buy it in bulk) but it will last months if you drink a couple of shakes a day.  Definitely cheaper than steak or chicken.  I mix one in with my morning oatmeal. and down one post workout.

As for other cheaper sources of protein:  Eggs, tuna, tilapia (lots of different fish is rather cheap), even lean ground beef.

Figure out around how much protein you should be consuming based on your body weight, then figure out your fat intake (which is also very important) and fill in the rest with carbs.

Since you said you were a beginner, it will take time for you to figure out exactly how much energy your body uses, so just pay attention to how your body responds to how much you're eating.  You can, and should, try a few different things as every body is different.