Fuck did I top wrong?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by bind777, Jun 23, 2010.

1. I topped two days ago with a pair of un-sterilized tweezers just a pinch at the top. Did I seriously fuck it up I haven't seen any response from this girl and I took a little off the left branch coming out. I have another girl that I accidentally topped on one side and shes way ahead of this one. This is my first grow/top so I'm no expert...

http://forum.grasscity.com/photopost/data/2921/medium/100_0180.jpg

2. #2 LongBottomLeaf, Jun 23, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 23, 2010
    You should be alright. Topping a plant will stunt it's upward growth momentarily. It stresses it a bit, and needs a bit of time to recover. You might notice that your side branching is benefiting from the topping. It gives the plant time to concentrate it's growth on the side branches.

It took close to a week for my first plant to show major signs of change after I topped her.

Good luck, and keep us updated!

How many full leaf sets does your plant have? Typically you would top after your 4th or 5th set, but people have done it after 3.

3. Yeah I did it after three... I accidentally did it to one half of the top on a younger plant and she is already started a new leaf set in replacement of the one missing leaf. I also wanted to get into 12/12 soon, will this effect the topping growth? I'm always up for a new experiment :D

4. I would wait. Seems kind of silly to top a plant and then force flower it. You would kind of be defeating the purpose.

At least wait until you get good some new good solid growth. Once that thing splits off and starts producing two "main stems" you are going to fall in love with it! Multiple top colas are lovely.