Fried or Drowned?

Discussion in 'Sick Plants and Problems' started by .carbon, Apr 4, 2011.

1. Okay so I already asked this question in the Absolute Beginners sections but I would like a second opinion given more/better pictures and more complete information.

I am in a bit of a panic given yesterdays events so I will skip the back story and jump right into it.

My 5 Kaya Gold feminized ladies were germinating when I decided to make a micro-box to germinate them in. Basically a rubbermaid ice-cooler with a 5" fan and 2 26Watt CFLs. I made the mistake of closing the lid while I went on campus for 3 hours before I could create a proper ventilation system. I made 2 possible mistakes and I am hoping yall can tell me which it was. Before I left I watered the plants out of ignorance, although the solo cups do have drainage holes. Upon my return the cooler was super hot and all my babies were wilted over as you can see in the pictures below. I immediately got them out of the cooler and under a fan, and since at first I thought it was due to the heat I lightly misted each one with cold water.

Here are some pictures, the stalks are of normal width towards the bottom but extremely thin and wilted towards the top, which makes me think it was the heat from the lights that fried them. But many people in my last post said it was over watering.

What do yall think?

BEFORE:
    [​IMG]

AFTER:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I AM a beginner and realize now I should have let them be, but please GC, give me guidance. The littlest sproutling was the only one that showed any growth this morning, the rest still looked...dead

I am willing to do anything to save these ladies, if only one survives then I will be attempting to clone, but I am open to suggestions.

2. drowned you should let them dry out in between watering

3. What steps can I take to correct my mistake, or is it too late?

4. they look pretty dead to me holmes :(