Freedom Vs. Money

Discussion in 'Real Life Stories' started by AmberFall92, Jun 9, 2013.

1. So,
    I have been smoking weed since I was 14. That's where I found my place in society. It's not like they say in school or on PSAs, my weed friends were my real friends. I love those guys. I had a good time. After I graduated High School, I traveled around, went to art school. I had good times and bad times. I was always a really honest kid. I told my parents that I was smoking pot when I was 14 and I told them that I was tripping on occasion when I was 18. They didn't take it well, at all, but I never stopped telling the truth. 

I'm not a super hard worker. I'm a pretty laid back artist. But lately, my world has gotten really hectic and complicated and I can't stand the pressure and anxiety. I am 20 years old and I just came back to college again after spending a year running away from real life and society and expectations. Art school can be really competitive and it got the best of me and I ran away. It happens, right? But I sorted it out and I came back. 

I decided that I owed it to my parents to do things their way. I worked really hard. I have been completely sober, no smoking, no drinking, no tripping, no anything for ten months, now. I got back to college and I got pretty rad grades. The anxiety was pretty bad during finals but I got through it. 
    Since I'm still honest, though and I don't like to lie or sneak, I told my parents that I plan to smoke again eventually. I never was a huge smoker anyway, I have been smoking for a long time but I was always the one who smoked the least of my friends. I smoked on average a gram a week for perspective- not a huge pothead. Well, they freaked out. They said they won't pay for school and they won't pay my rent or my cellphone, they'll just cut me off if I smoke or drink or anything.