FrankenFixture

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by chronicTRE, Mar 17, 2012.

1. Interesting but at $1200 a pop just a tad bit out of my budget. With a 4 to 1 ratio of red spectrum to blue spectrum it seems more geared towards the flowering stage.

2. #3 KalL, Mar 18, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 18, 2012

Well IMO I would prefer to have more red spectrum than blue. I would rather have lights that are more geared to Flowering/increasing yield. But I am by no means an expert with this.
    It would be great if these lights turn out to be legit. They claim to be 80% more efficient than HID's, but produce 100 lumens per watt while HPS make 150. I definitely feel these lights are good, I just wish the guy would be a little more clear and a little less misleading (Not suggesting hes a crook though).
    Another thing to take into account is that the site claims a very low running temp, meaning you could keep these lights inches from the plants. If that were the case, the efficiency would go up tons right there. Basically allowing the plant to absorb all the light, rather than on a MH hanging a foot above.
    I would just really love to see the evidence behind these. At the moment, the place for this product seems neither here nor there. For the price of one of these lights you could get 10 1000 watt HPS lights, and with LEDs getting cheaper and nearing the mystical 300 lumens per watt, I feel that it may be hard for these guys.

3. Yes it's true, they produce no heat. I've seen and used this lighting technology.

Dan (maker of the lights) isn't very clear, your right, but these lights are legit :) At $1200 a light though, think of what you get. 80,000 operational hours, no heat production, no heat ventilation, and an effective spectrum.

For a HPS setup, you'd need a reflector ($50-$100), bulb ($50-$120), ballast ($150-$300), can fans ($300).