For writers (and all artists i guess)

Discussion in 'The Artist's Corner' started by Badfish90, May 3, 2013.

1. I've got this huge problem that seems to rip open my insides every single day. It's the worst feeling in the world and I wanna know if any of you share this dilemma/have tips on getting over it.

So, my problem is that I have absolutely zero confidence in my work. I'm a comedy writer and part of that is having people read your stuff -- test to see what works, what doesn't, what needs to be punched up, etc.

I've been at multiple table reads where the whole room is laughing. Readers have complimented me, saying they literally laughed out loud at times. If you are in LA, you'd know most readers won't give even a chuckle. There's tons of bitterness and judging between a majority of the other writers I know. And, at the expense of sounding like a douche, I've written some short-short stories over in the general thread that got good responses too. One of the posts got over 130 replies of people just saying they got a laugh.

Of course, I still can take criticism. The problem is all I want to hear is the criticism.

I want somebody to come forward and finally admit that I'm terrible. I feel like I'm having delusions of grandeur and I'm waiting for the first person to slap me across the face to bring me back to reality.

I don't believe a person when they compliment me. In fact, whenever somebody compliments me, I think they're somehow insinuating the opposite. Too afraid to tell me to my face how they really felt.

What is wrong with me? Does anybody else suffer from this? It sucks because this feeling really discourages me from continuing to write. I still do, but I always am thinking in the back of my mind that I'm insane.

2. You care too much about what others think. Just own your shit. And in turn, confidence in yourself will only make you funnier to your audience.