flowering time in soil compared to hydro, indoor grow tent

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by truegooner80, Apr 21, 2016.

1. Hi guys im relatively new to growing weed. I have a question regarding flowering in soil compared to in a hydro set up. Most strains iv seen on the seed websites say they flower in about 8 to 12 weeks. I grew some northern lights which I flowered for 10 weeks total from the moment I went 12/12. The bud came out ok near the very tops but the rest wasn't all that. If I left it longer would some of the mid too lower buds reach potential? Back to my original question is there a difference in flowering times between soil and hydro? Most of the seed company's put time guidelines but don't mention anything about medium they grown in. I grow in soil and would be grateful for any advice from my fellow tokers.

• Like Like x 1
  2. this is normal if the plant is grown straight up because the bottom doesnt get light exposure, i always grow with the scrog method and will never look back all bud sites get full light and you end up with about 20 fat tops per plant look up "screen of green" if you dont already know about it

• Like Like x 1
  3. i grow in aeroponics, great systems aslong as temps are bang on otherwise prone to rot problems, alot of pros and cons

• Like Like x 1
  4. There are lots who chop the top when it's ready but leave the rest to go longer. I don't, because I like the 2-3 days of darkness. But you can do it.

As for what growing method is right, well you are on hydro. I am sure there are ways I ways thought hydro and a Sog would be a pain, less you have a ton of tiny buckets. Btnyuncan look up Scrog this may help you. You learn to train your plants and keep all branches same height.mthr idea is even canopy and even lighting for all. Making the bs complete at the same time.

Just an idea.