Flood and Drain Question

Discussion in 'Advanced Growing Techniques' started by jonb, Dec 17, 2008.

1. This is my first time using hydroponics and I have chosen the flood and drain system. I have four 4'x6' trays, two reservoirs (one for each pair), and two big pumps (one for each pair). I have my plants in 6" baskets filled with hydroton.

I recently transferred my rockwool cubes which I planted the seeds in into the hydroton. I was told to run the pumps for 5 minutes every hour. How high up on the baskets should the water be getting? When the trays fill, they only fill to about a half inch from the bottom of the baskets. This doesn't seem high enough to me, the little rockwool cubes are like 4" up, how will this water reach them?

I have been told that hydroton leaches the water up. Is the 0.5" up sufficient enough for the hydroton to leach water all the way up to the roots of these seedlings? Or should I be running the pumps longer?

2. I would run the pumps a tad longer. If I recall flood and drain tables should have a overflow valve/stem. Ideally you would want the water level 3/4 up the sides of the pot and or to the level of overflow vavle/stem.. This is because as the water drains it vacums the old air around roots out pulling fresh air down and through roots. Sort of like a tub drain when it forms the vacuum whirl pull as the water drains down the pipe. Hope this helps good luck.

3. Okay I have it running for 8 minutes now. The table fills to the overflow (about 3/4 up the baskets). Hopefully this will save my smaller ones which seem to be dying.

4. that seems like a bit too often to be running flooding your tray.
    You may in fact be overwatering them which is why the smaller ones are dying.
    I run an ebb and flow system and would flood it every 6 hours for about 15 minutes. The hydroton will stay moist enough for the plants to flourish.