First Try at Growing

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by faaris420, Feb 21, 2013.

1. hey this is my first time trying to grow
    here's my box set up
    4 65W high output CFLs (4000 lumens each)
    1 85W CFL
    2 120mm 90CFM fan (exhaust)
    1 120mm 90CFM fan (intake)
    i plan to grow 4-5 barney's farm pineapple express autoflower seeds
    any tips/advice appreciated!

Attached Files:

2. try leds they excellent check out my tread at the bottom links

3. Best of luck!

4. woah great yield! but leds arent available where i am, so ive gotta go with the cfl's

5. thanks!

6. looks like a sweet grow box dude!

7. nice setup, how big is that box? Looks pretty good man, good luck.

8. height: 30 inches
    length: 25 inches
    width: 25 inches

9. thanks! hopefully ill have everything by this weekend and start growing! :D

10. Hey man. I am currently using 3 42w 4100 lumen cool blue bulbs but haven't got much growth off of the compared to putting them in the sun. Might be worth it to try and get 5000 or 6500 lumen bulbs but hard to find high wattage ones. I know Home Depot has some lower watt ones.

11. these were the highest i was able to find from where i am. maybe placing the plants closer will, around 2 inches from the actual bulb

12. Nah cfls for one thing need to be no more than a couple inches from the plants. They lose like 50% intensity every inch. Also if you are comparing even to direct sun through a window you will be very disappointed even hid lighting has a hard time competing.

If you are growing cfl expect smaller slower to grow plants. If you can give it sun light you really should. I have about $800 into my lights but would much rather just have it in front of a sunny window although its just not possible where I am.