First timer needs input on LD inspired soil mix

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by Papalepew, Aug 18, 2010.

1. Hi,

This is my first post, and its a long one.

I've been doing a lot of reading on the forum and sourcing ingredients around town in preparation for my first attempt to make my own soil for a 100% organic mostly water grow. I'm not going water only, I just want to spend as little time and money as possible in hydro stores(was the only place I found Pro-teKt unfortunately).
    I've grown a little in modified FFOF and in coco using bottled nutes, but I'm ready for something better. I've put together an LD inspired soil mix I'd appreciate some input on. How are my ratios and product selection? This is my first time so I could be missing an obvious mistake.

I've been able to find most of the products and ingredients I was looking for. EB Stone (EB) and Down to Earth(DTE) products are available at the nursery, some seed and meal at a feed store, and specialty stuff at the hydro store if absolutely necessary. So I can probably find anything you think I'm missing or should substitute.

So here goes:

Soil Base

2.3(ish) cf. Botanicare Coco Brick (cheapest coco I've found)
    1.5 cf bag of loose coco or coco based medium with EWC perlite etc.
    1 cf dry EWC (Several different bags available)
    .5 cf fresh local EWC
    .5 not yet sourced humus. (Don't know what the best local option is.)
    2 cf perlite/pumice/course pumice (mixed in equal parts)

Total = 7-8 cf

8 cups of Seed/meal mix:

3x alfalfa - Can get pellets or meal with molasses from feed store or EB Stone for a lot more.
    3x flax seed meal (Feed Store)
    1x fish bone meal (EB or DTE)
    1x kelp meal (EB)
    .5x neem seed meal (DTE)

4 cup mexican guano, peruvian guano, and steer manure mixed in equal parts (becuase I have them lying around)