First timer, is this mix good?

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by Sweet Leaf`, Jan 22, 2015.

1. #1 Sweet Leaf`, Jan 22, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 22, 2015
    i've gathered most of the materials to start my mix, i think im pretty much ready. im curious to get some feedback before i start because its my first time growing organic

measurements are using a 5 gallon bucket, so 1 part=1 full 5 gallon bucket, 1/2 part=1/2 of a 5 gallon bucket, or 2.5 gallons

to make a cubic foot
    1/2 fox farm ocean forest organic soil (has a blend of premium earthworm castings, bat guano, sea-going fish and crab meal, composted forest humus, sandy loam, and sphagnum peat moss)
    1/2 coast of maine lobster compost soil
    1/2 perlite
    1 cup of lime
    1 cup kelp meal
    1.5 cup epsoma tomato meal

i also have rock dust so i should probably put that in also.

2. i'm confused on your measurements... I think I understand...
    2.5 gal of ocean forest
    2.5 gal of perlite
    2.5 gal of compost?
    I'd go less lime, or none
    add oyster flour
    leave out the tomato tone and replace with neem meal and more crab meal.

3. #3 Sweet Leaf`, Jan 23, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 23, 2015

thanks a lot for the feedback. im kinda just going off some basic mixes i read about on here. youre correct about the measurements. i'm going to leave the lime out and get the stuff you suggested. it seemed like youre confused about the compost, heres a link to it http://www.amazon.com/COAST-MAINE-Q1-Lobster-Conditioner/dp/B00D8XL4SI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1421969618&sr=8-1&keywords=maine+lobster+compost. if anyone else has anything to add, i would appreciate it.
    thanks

4. sure, and i'd add rock phosphates as well, like you mentioned.
    maybe 2-4 cups of minerals depending on how much oyster flour you add (I count oyster flour as a mineral)
    if it were me i'd go with either a full cup or a half cup of each
    one half or one cup basalt