First timer in need of some help

Discussion in 'Indoor Grow Journals' started by poldara, Dec 17, 2013.

1. So as the title suggests this is my first time grow and I need some advice on my baby, but firstly let me introduce you to her.

NL#5 

Soil grow using Biobizz nutes every other feed

600w dual spectrum CFL

Currently in veg but hoping to switch soonish.

Around 6 weeks old from germination and about 16" tall.

My question is......should she be taller?

I have looked around other peoples journals and stuff and every plant seems to be taller with much more space and room.

However, my plant is soooooo bushy I struggle to see her stem. Is this normal? I have seen other NL and they look nothing like my baby. Also her stem is as thick as a finger making it impossible to train her, is this normal. And lastly should I be concerned with some purple stems? She looks healthy enough to me but I have read so many conflicting opinions my head hurt reading them.  Peace out guys and any help would be appreciated.

IMG_02931.JPG

Attached Files:

2. do yourself a favor and get a high pressure sodium set-up...at least 400 watts....you won't get much of a harvest from CFL's. I know this from experience...but my guess is you can't afford one right? if you were using a HPS setup, you could expect your plant to at least double in size once you put it into flower...not sure you will see that much stretch from a CFL though, so you may want to veg more before you flip. Is your plant from regular or Feminized seed?

3. Hey thanks for the advice. Well money isn't really a problem, it is the heat and electricity cost that I was more concerned about as I'm doing a stealth closet grow. As for the seed it was a regular but I got lucky and it is definitely a female plant!!

4. How do you know its a female? Is she flowering?