First Time Owning A Dog :0

Discussion in 'Pets' started by Jonnyboy255, Jun 6, 2013.

1. Well, i finally got what i wanted for YEARS. I finally got a puppy. She is a pure beagle and is about 9 weeks old. This is my very first time owning a dog and a have a few question that hopefully you guys can answer....
    Well she is a female. & i am kinda scared about when she gets her first "heat" :/ how do i manage that? How much do they bleed? How should i clean her and how often will she be in heat! She is a pure 9 weeks beagle...
    How do i make her sleep the same time i sleep? Cause i dont what to be waking up at 7 am every morning. 9 am would be better.
    She is sleeping in my bed tonight since its her first night with me :) will she get used to sleeping on my bed with me? Are there any downsides to letting her sleep with me?
    I will start training her tomorrow and if i have any more questions i will ask them here and hopefully you guys can help me put. Heres a picture of her :)

2. #2 Biltwellnigga, Jun 6, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 6, 2013
    Hahaha congrats.

I can only guess at your excitement and worry at the same time of owning a dog for the first time.

I fucking love dogs and had them all my life, they are truly the best friend you can ever have.  Really.

Anyways, don't get so overwhelmed she is still a puppy and will definitely be a little more active and playful but they still love their sleep.  But just know she is your new buddy till death, she will sleep when you sleep and usually wake up when you do as well.

Since she is not a huge type of dog she will be ok sleeping on your bed but for dogs that get huge, its a bad habbit since they start thinking your bed is theirs and well you can only imagine the problems that starts causing. 

But you should also get her a little doggie bed so she has her own little private spot.  They sell em for very cheap in petsmart or petco, or even places like CVS, Home goods.