First Time Outdoor grow

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by dutchboy79, Jul 24, 2013.

1. This is my first attempt at a cannabis grow. Over the past 2-3 yrs i've really enjoyed planting and caring for other plants around my property,  and I enjoy cannabis so I figured i'll try to grow some. I realize that with an outdoor grow, I will not see the same yield and quality that I would see from an indoor grow. I'm totally ok with that. This is a bag seed, and it was in with some pretty shitty weed, but nonetheless I want to see it grow ( i know, it could be a male...). I'm cutting my teeth with this one.

So, I germinated in a shot glass of water for 24 hrs and planted the seed on July 8th.
    This plant sees full sun from 7-7 daily, on a south facing hillside.

It's in a 50/50 mix of miracle gro and peat hummus. I water every 2-3 days.

I have a 3 gallon pot that i'm planning to repot to. When should I do this?
    When I repot, i was going to use a mix of perlite, soil, and peat.
    I had planned on simply cutting the solo cup away and placing the entire cup shaped ball into the new pot & medium.

So, that's my main concern right now. When do I repot?

Also, I am leaving for a week vacation next week. Will the plant die if it misses a watering?

Attached Files:

2. First I don't know where you are but planting now is going to only allow a tiny plant (most places plants have begun flowering or will soon).

I wouldn't repot until the little one is 6'' tall or more. When you repot just let the soil dry out and squeeze the cup to loosen up the root mass then gently just pull it and place it into the 3 gal with a layer of mix already in there then fill it in. not allowing for horizontal feeder root growth by keeping the plant in a solo cup in the new container is silly to me.

A week of no water on a plant that small will be tough, but what can you do not go on vacation? Good luck.