First time hydro grow questions DWC

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by wackpack, Mar 6, 2020.

1. So ive been growing for a few years with much success in soil for my medium. After some research ive decided to make the switch to hydro for better yields and less watering. I just have a few questions for how im going to go about it.

First off I have 4 5 gallon buckets with clay pebbles as my setup. My air pump setup is adequate so i dont need any insight on that currently. I have always just used tap water without phing for watering my plants. I plan on using tap water for my reservoirs and after doing some ph testing my water sits around 7.5 without any nutes. My first question is has anyone had success just using tap water? I know a lot of people swear by r/o but i have no interest if its not needed. I have everything ready for ph balancing when the time comes.

Second what are some of the best options for nutrients? I always used fox farms trio for soil and am aware they make a hydro set as well, just want some opinions on the trio or other options.

What should my ph/temperature goals be once i have added nutrients to my res? Also since this has so many opinions how often is it necessary to change the water in my res buckets? Anything else i can think of i will add and appreciate any input!

2. Personally I wouldn't use tap water if its ppm was over 50 (EC=0.1).
    I strongly recommend the cheap, 1-part, solid fertilizer Greenleaf Megacrop. That's all that's needed from seed to harvest.
    The Vapor Pressure Deficit chart gives the best range of humidities. The shorthand version of it is to keep air temp in the mid 70s F, and humidity in the mid 60s. Reservoir should stay under 70 F. Humidifiers, heaters, fans, and meters are needed.

• Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  3. Appreciate the reply. As far as my water what info do i need from my water report to determine ppm?

• Friendly Friendly x 1
  4. #4 bkarnaze, Mar 6, 2020