First Time Grower

Discussion in 'Micro Grows' started by SurrSmokeALot, Aug 4, 2011.

1. I've been an avid smoker for some years now, but I want to start my own small grow op, perhaps in a bathroom. To get started, what are the essentials that I'll be needing to grow about 3 to 4 plants?

2. Look on the first page of the micro grows forum, Im a newb myself, but I'll tell you what you the basic necessities needed.

On a low budget (less than $100) you need:

1.) CFL bulbs if you're gonna be planting 3-4 plants, you'll want a minimum of 150-200 watts totaling all of the bulbs up. You can pick up a three 3 packs of cfl bulbs at your local walgreens (totaling like $35) --or-- can get two 6 packs of them at amazon [ame=http://www.amazon.com/Watt-Energy-Smart-CFL-Replacement/dp/B000UYF80S/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1312413502&sr=8-1(totaling]Amazon.com: GE 26 Watt Energy Smart CFL - 6 Pack - 100 Watt Replacement: Kitchen & Dining[/ame] around $25, the better deal)

2.)White Paint or Mylar as a reflector of the sides of the cabinet/box(mylar works best but is expensive)

3.) Nutrients, soil, etc.

4.)Ph testing kit

On a Big Budget (well over $100) you'll need:

1.) LED grow lights, youll need two of these: [ame=http://www.amazon.com/LED-Wholesalers-2506RBOW-Orange-White/dp/B002TZ6I14/ref=sr_1_1?s=home-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1312413700&sr=1-1]Amazon.com: LED Wholesalers 2506RBOW Blue/Red/Orange/White 90 x 1 Watt LED High Power Round Grow Light: Home & Garden[/ame]

2.) Mylar for reflecting light back into your plants.

3.)Nutrients, soil, etc.

4.) Ph testing kit

And if you're doing a stealth grow, you're gonna need something to mask the smell.

3. Thank you very much for the advice! Is there a great difference in the lighting (does it make plants grower faster or of better quality)? And how should I go about constructing a box?