First time grower seeking advice/help!!

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by phaeded, Apr 13, 2012.

1. Hello all I am new here and a newbie to the cannabis growing world which is probably why I find myself here in this newbie forum asking for help!

Basically I have a bunch of babies I have started for the up coming outdoor season. I have them inside in my closet which I leave the door open to for most of the day so that it doesnt get too hot. By open I mean a few inches enough for fresh air to get in and out. I started with a bunch of bag seeds which yes I know isnt always great to start with but I am a newb and figured I would try and just learn a few things this year before really spending money on seeds or clones next year. Anyways I am just going to make a list as to what I do and have and then post a picture or 2.

Setup.
    5 cfls (daytime light - veg stage lights) all about 4 or 5 inches above the tops of my babies.

-The grow space is small but the temps and humidity are usually good and I have good air circulation. temps are from 72-82, humidity around 33-45.

-Plastic cups filled with FAFARD FARMS custom mix. The custom has nothing to tell me what is in it but the guy at the nursery told me its an organic mix with no ferts added, not sure if I believe him or not.(this could be part of my problem)

-Water usually a very small amount once a day when I notice the top of the soil looks a dry. I havent tested the water yet (yes, this could also be an issue) but its good tap drinking water that is fed from a local spring I believe. (I live out in the woods)

Problem.
    -I am notice some of the leaves are starting to curl under and the tips of some are just starting to turn slightly yellow. From what I understand this may be cause form over watering but I dont think I am over watering too much but what do I know, I am a newbie!! Thats why I am here asking you guys what you think.