First time grower needs major help pls!! Hydro or Soil..Grow Box?

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by busy360, Jun 28, 2012.

1. I'm a beginner first grow..really interested in a grow box is it better to buy if so whats a good brand or company? Or should i build one if so where do i begin to get the best system without breaking the bank? should i go soil or hydro? All my friends have built their systems and go soil I have limited space and want something compact I can put in the garage. I'm leaning towards hydro just from what I've read. Is soil that much easier? Or is hydro worth the investment? Please help. I want to get started ASAP I have the best opportunity for clones of some great strands now! Thanks look forward to your replies

2. Why would you post this in Forum Tech Questions?

3. A lot of new members have to have a few posts under their belt in order to post in some sections. I think this might be one of the only sections where you don't so they post where they can in hopes they will get the answer they want.

I'm sure a mod will either lock this or move it to a more appropriate section if asked nicely :).

4. I suggest soil to start with. Hydro can go wrong very fast if you dont know what youre doing. Building a box is cheaper. I would read through some journals on here and see what you think would fit your needs.

5. I would recommend soil as hydro can have a steep learning curve. If you do go hydro flood & drain is pretty simple. I prefer and recommend a recirculating drip system in soil. As a hybrid system it seems to get the best of both worlds.