First time grower asking for design ideas on grow closet/cabinet

Discussion in 'Micro Grows' started by CarcassLizard, Aug 5, 2011.

1. Hey to all my fellow tokers! Greetings from Canada. I've been researching these forums for a few months now and final decided it was time to grow for myself!

I scooped up this (see attached pictures) off a local classifieds site for $40. It does have a cardboard backing but other then that mostly cheap mdf board. It measures on the inside as follows, 68" tall, 28" wide, 19 1/2" deep.

If its impractical to use id consider a tent off ebay to stash in a closet. I live in an apartment so some degree of stealth is welcome. For my first couple grows I think Ill grow in batches versus perpetual harvest, but would like to design the closet to where I can also have a veg chamber for future use, or a drying area ect. I'm setting myself a budget of $500. For lighting im leaning toward a 400watt HPS and MH combo, possibly getting a combo with both lights ballast and reflector off ebay for $130.

What design ideas can you seasoned growers come up with? :D

Attached Files:

2. How many plants are you going to grow in here at once?

3. Paint the walls white or get some Mylar for reflectiveness, if stealth is a concern get a good carbon filter, I have a 400w hps and if you used a 4-6" hydrofarm fan you should be able to keep your temps down. Get a couple of small fans or a decent sized one for circulation, and don't forget about an intake fan. If temps become an you could always go with a cool tube set up. Hope that helps man

4. Probably 4 plants flowering.

Yea, Ill be painting the cabinet in the next couple days. How loud are the hydrofarm 4" fans? There is a computer in the room, would it be noticeably more then that?

Here's what I have so far.

Attached Files:

• v1.png
      v1.png
      File size:
      41 KB
      Views: