First time grow - Northern Lights Autos - How am I doing?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by McStrats, Apr 4, 2016.

1. Hi everyone...newbie here!

I planted 6 Northern Lights Auto seeds in mid February. It is now April 4. My grow closet is 6' x 2' x 6' and I have a pair of Platinum P300 LED's, plus a 4" centrifugal fan, ducting, and a passive air intake. I used Fox Farms Ocean Forest and their trio of nutes. Everything is going well except for the fact that things have gotten very crowded in the 10 days or so. Two of my plants are 48" the others are getting big also. Buds are starting to grow and the leaves seem healthy. Just wondering ifI should ditch a plant or two to make room? do some pruning? or leave well enough alone?

Any ideas will be greatly appreciated..

[​IMG] [​IMG]

• Like Like x 2
  2. How far are you into flower? Usually by week 5 they stop stretching. Since they're autos you shouldn't prune them, any stress tends to stunt autos and lessen your harvest. I'd just see what happened and learn for next time. You can try so LST to get the bud sites more light.

3. I'm about 2 weeks into flower and they are still growing.

4. That's right in the beginning of stretch. They usually double or triple in size during the flower stretch. With indicas I veg to 1/2 total height that I want. With Sativas I veg to 1/3 total height. How much vertical space are you working with?

5. The closet has a 9' ceiling.

6. You should be fine then.

7. They look excellent, especially for a first grow.

8. Thanks! Next time I'll probably go with 3 or 4 plants in that space. Its very crowded with 6 of them.

• Like Like x 1
  9. I had the same problem on my first grow with photo period northern lights. Had trouble squeezing 5 plants into a 4x4 square but i still pulled out about 13 ounces from them despite an equipment malfunction that forced me to harvest a week or two early.

10. What is LST?