First time grow - Chemdog & Sour Bubble

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by Ify, May 8, 2011.

1. Hi, this is my first time growing. I am growing 4 Chemdog plants and 3 Sour Bubble. I am growing from clones and today is day #5.

I am using Ocean Forest in 5 gal pots out on patio. First question for those experienced at growing these strains outdoors: how often should I water the plants? Some say to water by soaking soil every 1-2 days. Others say soil should be dried completely between waterings, and to water about once every 4-5 days.

HELP! I don't want to overwater, but I also do not want to underwater. I noticed that soil is still dark and wet (from dampness) but then I also noticed plants get downturned and they suddenly perk up within hours after I soak their pots with water. Should I water every other day, or should I allow leaves to downturn slightly but allow roots to search for water in soil by themselves? I heard this helps plants and yields to have soils span out in search of water and soil.

2. When you can poke your finger in the soil and if the top 2 inches is dry you need to water. If it is still damp like you are talking about, LTFA.

Try and remember how much your soil weighs without water so you can get a feel of when you need to water.

3. Okay, thanks washed. That's what I thought.

So, even though the soil is damp to the touch and the plants are still little with obviously very short and shallow roots at this point, and even though the leaves tend to appear curved downward, I should just leave them alone to search for their on water in the soil at this very early stage, right?

I noticed that when I have watered them directly on their shallow roots every couple days they have perked up and grown slightly overnight.

4. Its because you are growing from clones. Did you start them in the shade? Or just stick them out in the sun all day?