First post, first grow.

Discussion in 'Indoor Grow Journals' started by Mr Scroggins, Feb 4, 2014.

1. Hi everyone.

I'm new to the city, but have been lurking for some time. I recently put together my first grow room.

It consists of:

- Seahawk 2.4m x 1.2m tent
    - 150mm intake fan
    - Phresh filter and Can fan combo
    - Solis-Tek 1000w dimmable digital ballast
    - Solis-Tek 600w HPS bulb
    - Large Adjust-a-Wing reflector
    - 2 height adjustable oscillating fans

My medium is coco in 50L pots. Watered by hand.

It's just coming to the end of summer here, and it's been a bit brutal on my first babies. At one point I remember seeing the temp in my room at 37C. The humidity has been a pretty constant 35-40%. I'm learning as I go, and I know I should have lower temps and higher humidity for my babies, but I don't have the disposable income to rectify that issue right now. I'm guessing the 2 oscillating fans in there have kept them going in through the heatwave. Those days it was 37C in the grow room, it was around 44-45C outside. Australian summers suck!

So for my first grow i've chosen to grow some Female Seeds White Widow x Big Bud. I read that it was a beginner strain, and pretty forgiving for the most part. It also has a reasonably high yield which is something I was after.

I germinated in paper towel which took 2 days. All 4 popped, and I dropped them into some little 3" pots with coco that i'd flushed with ph'd water. I think from memory it took 3 of them 2 days to break ground, and the last one pushed through the next day. That was the 18/1.

These are some pics I took of them on day 12 (30/1)

a1.JPG

a2.JPG

a3.JPG

a4.JPG

a5.JPG

2. Right on dude they look pretty! Mine are the exact same age as yours lol! Well have to compare growth man" That's what I thought. NERD! "

3. Thanks Josh. Mine are a little older than yours I think.

Those pics were from the 30/1.