first outdoor grow - new zealand

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by Ripsta, Oct 27, 2009.

1. hey guys !

so ive been smoking for about 6 years now but I havnt grown before so I thought id give it a shot. im on a strict time frame of 2 or 2.5 months so I have chosen the auto strain easyryder (AK47xlowryder) feminised.

im growing somwhere on a 20acre farm which is situated on a large hill in New Zealand. It gets alot of sun.

my main questions are:

will growing with no nutrients be a problem? I will be growing in dug out holes filled with soil. also what should I look for when choosing a bag of soil? my reasoning is I cant afford nutrients, although I do like the idea of growing them how mother nature intended lol

also ive been researching and I have come to think jiffy pellets would be a good idea as I can have them on a windowsill in jiffy pots until I feel they are ready to be transferd outdoors. is this a good idea? would a windowsill be sufficient for the first week or whatever? also should I germinate in paper towel first or put seeds straight into the jiffys?

thanks guys I know its a lot of questions but I want to start growing them and I dont want to screw it up!

cheers :D

2. Hello!
    This is gonna be my first season growing in NZ!
    Can I suggest you skip the jiffy pots? It's way easier to germ in paper towels, then put it in soil in some small plastic pots (10cm or bigger).

Dig those holes DEEP and fill it with good, rich, dark, moist soil, before your plants actually need the transplant.

I know it sucks spending money on nutrients, but i picked up a bottle of Yate's Organic Nitrosol for 8 bucks at the Warehouse. Nutrients WILL be needed if you want a decent crop, but they don't have to be expensive or unnatural.