First hydro

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Grow Journals' started by mtam12, Sep 24, 2012.

1. Newbie here...I have read so much on this great site my head may explode! Love it!!

I have a few questions though. If you can provide any help it will be mucho appreciated!!

I have some AK47 auto fem seeds and don't want to screw it up. I have a 2' tall hydro box with three CFL lights. All the walls are reflective.

For these autos should I use the 6500k full spectrum light 24/7? 20/4?
    Should I start germinating outside my hydro box? Or put the seeds in rockwool in the hydro and start there?
    What kind of nutes would be best? When should I stop/start use? Where to buy?
    Do I ever change out the water in the bucket of just add to it?

I think I have the Ph figured out. I have a meter that I stick in the water. I wish the rest was that easy.

Thanks for any help

2. Hey MTam!

To answer your germination question - I have had really good luck by doing the following:

Get a small sealable tupperware container.
    Line it with paper towels.
    Wet the paper towels, but drawn any standing water off the towels in the tupperware.
    I typically fold up my papertowels to fit into the container.
    Drop however many seeds you want in there.
    Preferrably not touching.
    Seal up the container.
    I take a black t-shirt and wrap it up.
    Then I set it on top of the cable box because it's warm.
    In a few days you should have beans starting to pop (see pic below)
    Once the beans start popping get them into the medium your using.

[​IMG]

Once the tap root shown in picture above pops out of the seed you want to get it into the rockwool cube. Make sure you have your rockwool all ready in water. I suggest throwing them into a 5 gallon bucket with a gallon or two of water. Then you want to PH that water with the cubes in it to 5.6ish