First grow - stealth in a Crawlspace!

Discussion in 'Marijuana Grow Journals' started by suburban_cowboy, Mar 14, 2008.

1. Hello all. I am an absolute beginner at growing, but I am experienced in construction.

I wanted to be as stealthy as possible, so I decided - grow in the crawlspace! Not a basement, just a crawlspace. But it turned out to be quite a large undertaking.

First, I had to dig several feet down by hand. The grown room measures 7 by 10 feet, and 7.5 feet tall. I didn't figure the math, but it was months of digging by hand and left an absolutely huge mound of dirt.

Next, I bought over 100 bags of ready mix concrete bags to make a level and sturdy floor. I had no mixer, so I mixed them in rubbermaid containers by hand.

The sides are made of treated 4x4's and 3/4" thick treated plywood. Heres a pic.

[​IMG]

And heres the secret entrance to the home above.

[​IMG]

It was alot of work, but I think it's about as stealthy as I could build. It cost several thousand dollars and months of work, but soon I should be growing some great plants.

2. oh shit man.. that's cool as hell! gl with the buds!

3. Enough of the room, time to get growing!

I'm on Day 5.

There are five seeds of Blue Mystic (#1-#5) and five of Northern Lights (#6-#10.) All now have 1 inch sprouts except for #8 and #9, and they were also the slowest to grow a taproot.

[​IMG]

This is a closeup of what they look like. I just now lowered the lights from 14 to 4 inches, because I believe they may be stretching for light?

[​IMG]

They are planted in ph-adjusted rockwool under fluorescent lights.

Any suggestions for a first time newbie?

4. I want to see more of that room! Whats it like on the inside? How are you growing those lovely lil sprouts?

5. dont have the rockwool exposed to lights put them in pots n cover with soil ive herd rockwool will rot wen wet and exposed to lights